Princeton University Concerts

Tickets | 609-258-9220
Tabea Zimmermann, Viola and Thomas Hoppe, Piano Photo
Tabea Zimmermann, Viola and Thomas Hoppe, Piano Photo
« Back to Concerts

Tabea Zimmermann, Viola and Thomas Hoppe, Piano

Thursday, October 26, 2017, 8:00 PM Musical Preview by La Vie en Cello - Princeton student cellists at 7pm, free to ticketholders Richardson Auditorium in Alexander Hall

Ticket Info

This concert is available as part of the Concert Classics Series susbscription.  Buy 3 or more events and Make Your Own series to save 10% off single tickets prices. Single tickets are now on sale by clicking the link below or by calling the Box Office at 609-258-9220.

SINGLE TICKETS:  $50, $40, $25 General; $10 for students with valid ID


HINDEMITH Viola Sonata Op. 25, No. 4
SCHUBERT Viola Sonata in A Minor, D. 821 “Arpeggione”
SHULAMIT RAN Perfect Storm
SCHUMANN Märchenbilder for Viola and Piano, Op. 113
BRAHMS Sonata for Viola and Piano in F Minor, Op. 120, No. 1

About the Artist

Two seasons ago in Richardson Auditorium, the phenomenal pan-European Arcanto Quartet dazzled us with a lush program of Romantic repertoire. Tabea Zimmermann, who is regularly cited as the world’s greatest living violist, made her Princeton debut during that performance, and our ears are still resonating with her singular, unforgettable tone. Now she returns triumphantly, treating us to a full evening of her majestic playing alongside pianist Thomas Hoppe. György Ligeti once said of the viola, the violin’s mysterious and unsung cousin: “the low C-string gives the viola a unique acerbity, compact, somewhat hoarse, with an aftertaste of wood, earth and tannic acid.” And indeed, in Zimmermann’s hands, the instrument sings just as it should, filled with “graceful athleticism and a feathery left-hand touch.” (The New York Times) Hoppe and Zimmermann will perform the cornerstones of the viola sonata repertoire, rarely heard on our stage, including Brahms’ late masterpiece Op. 120, No. 1 and Schubert’s wonderfully melodic “Arpeggione” Sonata.

Artist Websites

Tabea Zimmermann »
Thomas Hoppe »

Tabea Zimmermann Plays Schubert

More videos at discover and listen »

Tabea Zimmermann plays an excerpt from Schubert "Arpeggione" Sonata - 3rd movt.

More audio at discover and listen »

“Zimmermann and Hoppe convincingly breathe new life and bring an astonishing array of colours and voices to a neglected area of the repertoire.”

- The Irish Times