Princeton University Concerts

Tickets | 609-258-2800
Richard Goode, Piano Photo
« Back to Concerts

Richard Goode, Piano

Thursday, May 9, 2013, 8:00 PM Please note: there is no pre-concert talk for this event Richardson Auditorium in Alexander Hall


Piano Sonata No. 30 in E Major, Op. 109
Piano Sonata No. 31 in A-flat Major, Op. 110
Selections from Bagatelles, Op. 119

Piano Sonata No. 32 in C Minor, Op. 111

Ticket Info

This concert has happened. Tickets are no longer available.

About the Artist

"It is virtually impossible to walk away from one of Richard Goode's recitals without the sense of having gained some new insight, subtle or otherwise, into the works he played or about pianism itself," wrote Allan Kozinn in The New York Times. By now, superlative descriptions of this eminent American pianist have become commonplace anywhere he plays.  In this recital, Princeton audiences will be treated to a program featuring Beethoven's last three piano sonatas as well as six of the Bagatelles, Op. 119.  Discussing the Beethoven sonatas recently with the San Francisco Classical Voice, Mr. Goode spoke about  "the tremendous human force of Beethoven, the emotional and human meaning of his music, and that immense formal power."

PLEASE NOTE:  This event has changed. Goode was to have been joined by poet C.K. Williams for a collaborative performance, as previously announced, however Mr. Williams has had to cancel, due to illness.  The duo event has been postponed until next Spring.  Mr. Williams has said "I am disappointed to miss the event on May 9 with Richard Goode who, after many months of working together, has become a friend and a trusted colleague.  I am pleased, though, that this event can be rescheduled and look forward to appearing with him on the Princeton University Concerts series next Spring." 

Artist Website

Richard Goode »

Richard Goode performs Bach Partita no.1 in B-flat major at Jerusalem Theater

More videos at discover and listen »

Richard Goode Plays Bach from Partita No. 1 in B-flat Major, BWV 825 (Praeludium)

More audio at discover and listen »

“this exaltation, this splendor, this bliss”