Princeton University Concerts

Tickets | 609-258-9220
Leonidas Kavakos, Violin & Enrico Pace, Piano Photo
« Back to Concerts

Leonidas Kavakos, Violin & Enrico Pace, Piano

Thursday, February 27, 2014, 8:00 PM pre-concert event at 7:00 PM, free to ticketholders Richardson Auditorium in Alexander Hall



Sonata No. 4 in A Minor, Op. 23
Sonata No. 5 in F Major, Op. 24, "Spring" 
Sonata No. 10 in G Major, Op. 96, "The Cockcrow" 

Read more about the program »

Ticket Info

This concert has happened. Tickets are no longer available.

About the Artist

One of classical music's hottest properties, Greek violinist Leonidas Kavakos regularly concertizes with the world's greatest orchestras, but his recitals in this country are a precious few.  Together with pianist Enrico Pace, Kavakos will perform three of Beethoven's Violin Sonatas, including two written just before the composer penned his Heiligenstadt Testament, in which he explained that encroaching deafness was responsible for his withdrawal from society.  Here's the violinist speaking from his heart about the "Abergavenny" Stradivarius with which he has performed for the last three years.  "I'm very fortunate to have the privilege to live with an instrument like this and play on it every day and learn from its sound and be challenged by the possibilities it gives.  Many of these are museum pieces, and to be able to live with one of them -- what else can a violinist ask for in life?  The fascinating thing with an instrument... you get to know each other. But because it is great doesn't necessarily mean it's what one needs....  The chemistry is like that with another human being.  An instrument adjusts to the playing of a player and the player adjusts to the instrument. It's a give-and-take relationship." Imagine the magic these devoted partners will make together.


Pianist Enrico Pace will give a masterclass on Wednesday, February 26 5pm-7:30pm in Taplin Auditorium in Fine Hall.  The class will be free and open to the public.

Artist Website

Leonidas Kavakos »

Leonidas Plays and Discusses the Beethoven Violin Sonatas

More videos at discover and listen »

Beethoven Sonata No. 1 in D Major, Op. 12, No. 1

More audio at discover and listen »

“astoundingly virtuosic and blazingly insightful”

- The Guardian (London)