Princeton University Concerts

Tickets | 609-258-9220
Inon Barnatan, Piano Photo
« Back to Concerts

Inon Barnatan, Piano

Tuesday, April 9, 2013, 7:30 PM Pre-Concert Talk given by Professor Stanley Katz, Woodrow Wilson School and Professor Derek Katz, University of California, Santa Barbara at 6:30PM, free to ticketholders Richardson Auditorium in Alexander Hall

Ticket Info

This concert has happened. Tickets are no longer available.



BEETHOVEN Thirty-two Variations, C Minor
BEETHOVEN Piano Sonata No. 21 in C Major, Op. 53 (“Waldstein”)
SCHUMANN Carnaval, Op. 9
CHOPIN Selected Pieces
SCHELLING Nocturne à Raguse
STOJOWSKI By the Brookside

About the Artist

Israeli pianist Inon Barnatan gave a memorable performance here with cellist Alisa Weilerstein in the Fall of 2011, earning an invitation to return to Princeton for a solo recital. He will do so in historic fashion with a tribute to the friendship between Woodrow Wilson, President of Princeton from 1902 to 1910 and later, of the United States, and Ignacy Paderewski, pianist, composer, and, in 1919, second Prime Minister of an independent Poland. When Wilson died in 1925, Princeton University Concerts invited Paderewski to perform a recital in honor of his late friend, colleague and political ally. Mr. Barnatan will recreate that recital to mark 100 years since Wilson entered the White House. The program includes Beethoven’s famed Waldstein Sonata and Schumann’s charming Carnaval. Mr. Barnatan was recently praised by The New Yorker for “uncommon sensitivity” in a “brilliant recital,” while the San Francisco Chronicle said he “possesses tons of technique,” and added that his West Coast audience “cheered the performance to the rafters.” Given the uniquely Princetonian nature of this concert, we predict that Richardson Auditorium will be filled to its rafters.


This concert is part of the Woodrow Wilson Centenary.  For more information on all of the events in honor of Woodrow Wilson, visit their website.

Artist Website »

Inon Barnatan plays Beethoven, Sonata in C major

More videos at discover and listen »

Inon Barnatan Plays Schubert from Sonata in B-flat, D. 960 (Allegro ma non troppo)

More audio at discover and listen »

“uncommon sensitivity”