Princeton University Concerts

Tickets | 609-258-2800
Isabelle Faust, Violin | Jean-Guihen Queyras, Cello | Alexander Melnikov, Piano Photo
« Back to Concerts

Isabelle Faust, Violin
Jean-Guihen Queyras, Cello
Alexander Melnikov, Piano

Thursday, February 6, 2020, 8:00 PM WARM UP: Professors Scott Burnham and Elaine Pagels discuss Beethoven at 7PM, free to ticketholders Richardson Auditorium, Alexander Hall


All Beethoven

“Kakadu” Variations, Op. 121a in G Major
Trio in E-flat Major, Op. 70, No. 2
Trio in B-flat Major, Op. 97 “Archduke”

Read more about the program »

Ticket Info

This concert has happened. Tickets are no longer available.

About the Artist

Exploring the works of a single composer has become a specialty for PUC. In 2016, Alexander Melnikov made a jaw-dropping debut playing Shostakovich’s 24 Preludes & Fugues; a few months later, Isabelle Faust played an unforgettable recital of J.S. Bach’s complete violin sonatas and partitas in the Princeton University Chapel. To help us celebrate Beethoven’s 250th birthday, these renowned soloists return for a rare joint appearance together with their dear friend and cellist Jean-Guihen Queyras. Their uplifting program is a remarkable opportunity to immerse in the composer’s piano trios. While these works are often overshadowed by his monumental string quartets, the virtuosity and expanse of Beethoven’s piano trios revolutionized this genre. The “Archduke” trio remains one of the absolute pinnacles of the repertoire—its brilliance, power, and joy well matched to the musicians who will perform it.

Artist Website

Jean-Guihen Queyras »

Faust/Melnikov/Queyras - from R. Schumann's Piano Trio, Op. 63

More videos at discover and listen »

Isabelle Faust, Alexander Melnikov, and Jean-Guihen Queyras play Beethoven's Archduke trio in this fortepiano version

More audio at discover and listen »

“They combine with a unity of purpose rare in such ensembles.”

- The Guardian