Princeton University Concerts

Tickets | 609-258-9220
Artemis String Quartet Photo
« Back to Concerts

Artemis String Quartet

Thursday, April 5, 2018, 8:00 PM Pre-concert Talk by Professor Emeritus Scott Burnham at 7pm, free to ticketholders Richardson Auditorium in Alexander Hall

Ticket Info

This concert has happened. Tickets are no longer available.


MOZART String Quartet No. 23 in F Major, K. 590
SHOSTAKOVICH String Quartet No. 7 in F-sharp Minor, Op. 108
SCHUMANN String Quartet in A Major, Op. 41, No. 3

Read more about the program »

About the Artist

Since their formation in Lübeck, Germany in 1989, the Artemis Quartet has steadily risen to the top tier of European chamber music, hosting regular series in Vienna, Berlin, and Amsterdam that have achieved legendary status. Passion, power, and harnessed-chaos are the hallmarks of their style. The New York Times described a recent concert at Carnegie Hall as “a warm, alert performance, shivering with energy even in its silences.” They return to Princeton after a tremendous 2013 performance, bringing with them a new second violinist and a varied program of masterworks. Mozart’s K. 590 String Quartet, his last, is weightless and shimmering. Schumann’s Quartet Op. 41, No. 3, also his last, opens with a two-note downward-falling motif tenderly set to the lyric “Clara,” his wife. In between is Shostakovich’s hugely popular String Quartet No. 7, which clocks in at a slim thirteen minutes and is equal parts sardonic and heartbreakingly sincere.

Artist Website

Artemis String Quartet »

Artemis Quartet Plays Schumann

More videos at discover and listen »

“… they leap, in a single bow stroke, from a snarl to a smile.”